Head of State: President Rosen Plevneliev

Head of Government: Prime Minister Boyko Borisov

National Assembly (Narodno Sobranie):240 members

Last election: Presidential, 23 and 30 October 2011.

Next election: Presidential, due 2011

Parliamentary elections

Main political parties, descriptions and election results 2009
Party Description Votes % Seats
GERB - Citizens for European Development of Bulgaria Conservative 39,72 116
KB (BSP) - Coalition for Bulgaria Social Democratic 17,70 40
DPS - Movement for Rights and Freedoms Ethnic-Regional 14,45 38
ATAKA - National Union Attack Nationalist 9,36 21
Sinyata (SDS) - The Blue Coalition Liberal 6,76 15
RZS - Order, Lawfulness, Justice Conservative 4,13 10

Presidential elections

The president of Bulgaria is elected through a direct popular vote for a five year term. The electoral system is based on the majoritarian two-round system (also called second ballot or runoff voting). The latest presidential election in Bulgaria was held in October 2006.. [read more..]

Results, presidential election 2011, NUTS 2


EP elections

Results, European Parliament election 2009, main parties. NUTS 2.